Custom Hobby Forum

• October 27, 2021, 07:45:39 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Moving and shaking!  We're back to http://www.customhobby.com/forum -- you may need to log out and log back in again to enjoy the new settings!

Author Topic: Painting the Autumnblade  (Read 2523 times)

Balgin Stondraeg

• RPG Guild
  • Very Old dragon
Painting the Autumnblade
« on: August 13, 2007, 06:09:10 PM »

Well I finaly got fed up of trying to improve/finish my convertion and so I just started painting her. The photo's didn't come out too well (they never do :p) but these are the best 6 of 17 so they could be a lot worse. Given the colours I'm thinking of doing her talons (nails) red, black or purple, it'd be a very dark red or a very dark purple. I'm sort of proud of the hair but it didn't come out right. I was aiming for something like this colour but a little bit warmer and with less extreme pale highlights. It started as dark flesh and then I added in that lighter brown that's almost the same colour as snakebite leather, but reddish instead of yellowy, and then I added in a bit of orange to that mix for the final highlights before inking it down with chestnut ink. The end result looks good but not very close to what I was aiming for (I was aiming for a light orangey brown natural colour and instead it looks like dark brown dyed a bright orangey brown :().