Custom Hobby Forum

• September 27, 2021, 05:59:58 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Moving and shaking!  We're back to http://www.customhobby.com/forum -- you may need to log out and log back in again to enjoy the new settings!

Author Topic: WIPs of all sorts (image heavy)  (Read 3167 times)

Caerban

• Contributors
  • Very Young Dragon
WIPs of all sorts (image heavy)
« on: March 11, 2008, 04:29:08 PM »

So there are those who want to know what I've been up to recently. Why no posts of painted minis? What happened to my promised Wyrd FF3 entry? Well okay then.

Firstly Wyrd. I got as far as the base and got viral keratitis in my eye and that's pretty much where it ended. But here's that base as is:

I don't seem to be able to get a good shot of it, it always comes out a blood red colour at the edges when really it's more browny-orange. It's my first attempt at alternate light source stuff too, uplighting the rocks with the lava glow. Here's a different angle of that:

The final idea has a skeleton on the big rock, with putty gribbliness over it painted to look like a badly burned, charred corpse then on the two white footprints in the lava is HF's Miranda, painted in lava-like colours walking away. "Embrace of the lava nymph" or something similar was its working title. I intend to finish it... eventually.   :icon_whistling:

Painting seems to strain my eye a lot at the moment so I've been mucking around with sculpting a bit to pass the time so here are my very first attempts... or at least the first ones I haven't binned after about 10 secs. Firstly is something sort of inspired by a half-dragon blackscale lizardman who briefly featured in our D&D Eberron campaign long enough to near fatally bathe our sorceress in acid before my paladin lopped his head off with a huge one hit crit: